A charity registered for the promotion of Education, Research and Training in fields applicable to the Construction, Engineering, Design, Technology and Architecture industries.

show menu

Bath University Mike Barnes' Prize For Excellence in Dissertation

Mike Barnes succeeded Ted Happold as Professor of Building Engineering at Bath University.

The Mike Barnes Prize is presented to a MEng student at Bath University for excellence in dissertation research projects.  Ralph Pelly received the 2010 prize for Top Dissertation.

Past recipients:

Ralph Pelly (2010) - 'Structural analysis of earthbag houses'

Ralph Pelly's disertation was based around a project Fielden Clegg Bradley were doing in Namibia where poor rural communities had inadequate conventional construction materials, but a plentiful supply of sand.

John Orr (2009) - 'Shear Capacity of Circular Concrete Sections'

The generous Happold Foundation award encouraged me to continue my studies at the University of Bath, where I am now studying for an MPhil/ Phd in Civil Engineering

John Orr

John's dissertation tackled the issue of shear design, particularly the application of the variable angle truss model to circular sections, an area that is not well defined at present.  He is planning to publish his findings in the near future.

Oliver Neve (2008)

Oliver Neve was awarded the Mike Barnes Award for excellence in his dissertation research project on thin topping timber concrete composites. The research involved building on past research at the University of Bath to determine the behavior of various types of shear connector in a thin topping timber concrete composite application. The shear connector is the critical component of the system and the research performed greatly improved the knowledge base on this subject. As such the research was commended in the Institution of Structural Engineer’s model and full scale testing awards and a paper published in the IStructE magazine.

Discover the experience